Blog

Does Vonage Have an AI Receptionist? Only as a Quoted Add-On

By Sharrk Team · November 1, 2026

Disclosure: we make Sharrk, an AI receptionist that competes with Vonage's. Every Vonage detail below comes from Vonage's own pages, checked November 1, 2026.

Vonage does not include an AI receptionist in its small business phone plans. Its built-in Virtual Receptionist is a preconfigured call menu, and its AI option, the AI Virtual Assistant, is a managed service that Vonage scopes per project with no published price.

Below is what each Vonage product does, what Vonage publishes about cost, and what to ask before you buy.

What does Vonage sell small businesses for answering calls?

Vonage's small business phone system is Vonage Business Communications (VBC). Its pricing page lists three plans, priced per line per month:

VBC planStandard pricePromo price (30% off)Highlights Vonage lists
Mobile$19.99$13.99Desktop and mobile apps, unlimited domestic calling, SMS and MMS, voicemail
Premium$29.99$20.99Everything in Mobile plus desk phones, video meetings up to 200 people, team messaging
Advanced$39.99$27.99Everything in Premium plus on-demand call recording (15 hours a month), visual voicemail with transcription, call groups

The promo price needs a one-year contract for new accounts, applies to annual contracts only, and is listed as valid through December 31, 2026. Prices are plus taxes and fees. Lower per-extension prices appear on some plan cards, and larger companies are told to contact sales.

None of those plan cards lists an AI feature. The comparison table includes a "Virtual Receptionist" row, and Vonage's small business page says Premium "includes a multi-level auto attendant for $29.99 per line per month."

Is Vonage's Virtual Receptionist AI?

No. Vonage's own feature page describes the Virtual Receptionist as "essentially a simplified version of IVR technology" that "primarily greets callers and transfers them to extensions or departments." Callers get "a list of options, prompting callers to select from a preconfigured menu."

What it can do, per Vonage:

  • Play a greeting, including a text-to-speech option
  • Route calls to extensions or departments
  • Use different schedules for daytime, lunch breaks, after hours and preset holidays

The page does not describe the Virtual Receptionist using AI, and it says "English is the only supported language at this time." In practice, that is an auto attendant: it sends callers somewhere, but it does not hold a conversation, answer questions or take down job details.

What is the Vonage AI Virtual Assistant?

The AI Virtual Assistant is the product closest to an AI receptionist. Vonage's page says it can "answer customers immediately, facilitate a conversation to understand their needs" and use natural language understanding to "navigate callers to the appropriate destination." It also lists voice self-service and outbound phone campaigns.

Vonage announced an AI Virtual Assistant for VBC in a press release dated September 28, 2021, describing voice and text conversations built with Vonage AI Studio. A separate Vonage marketplace page describes the Vonage Virtual Assistant as "the self-service layer of Vonage Contact Center," handling voice, WhatsApp, SMS and webchat requests and handing off to a person with context.

Things the product page does not show:

  • A price. Vonage calls it a "high-touch managed service both pre- and post-sale" and says "every project goes through scoping and sizing." The buttons are "See plans & pricing" and "Schedule a conversation."
  • Appointment booking. The page doesn't mention booking jobs onto a calendar.
  • Which VBC plan it works with. No plan is named.

In short: yes, Vonage has an AI voice assistant, but it is a scoped project you talk to sales about, not a switch you turn on in a $20 plan.

How much does Vonage AI Studio cost?

AI Studio is Vonage's low-code tool for building AI agents; Vonage calls it "our low-code conversation designer." It is sold under Vonage's developer API products, and it publishes prices:

AI Studio planMonthly priceVirtual agentsSessions a month
Standard$01010,000
Advanced$1,100100300,000
Fully ManagedCustomCustomCustom

Voice, speech recognition and premium text-to-speech are charged at regular Vonage API rates on top, which the AI Studio page doesn't list. Natural language and knowledge lookups are $0.00855 per request. Professional services are extra: the AI Studio Service Pack starts at $3,300 a month per customer.

AI Studio can produce a phone agent, but you or a partner build the flow, connect a number and pay voice minutes separately. For most owners of a small shop, that is a software project rather than a receptionist.

How does Vonage compare with Sharrk?

SharrkVonage VBC Virtual ReceptionistVonage AI Virtual AssistantVonage AI Studio
AI conversation on callsYesNo, preset menuYesYes, you build it
Published priceFree plan; Core $99/moIncluded in VBC plans from $19.99/line (Premium lists multi-level auto attendant)No, scoped per project$0 Standard or $1,100/mo Advanced, plus voice API rates
Books appointmentsSharrk calendar, Calendly, Cal.com, ServiceTitanNoNot mentioned on the pageDepends on your build
SetupDescribe it to Mako in plain EnglishAdmin configures menuVonage-managed projectLow-code builder or paid service pack
ContractNone1-year for promo priceNot statedNot stated

If you want a wider view of the market, our breakdown of what an AI receptionist costs covers typical monthly ranges. Other phone providers took different routes: RingCentral sells AIR from $49 a month, and Nextiva's XBert starts at $99 a month.

What should you ask Vonage before buying?

If you already use Vonage and want AI answering, ask your rep:

  1. Does the AI Virtual Assistant work with my VBC plan, or only with Vonage Contact Center?
  2. What is the setup fee, the monthly fee and the per-minute or per-session cost?
  3. Can it book appointments into my scheduling software, or only route calls?
  4. Who changes the call flow when my services or hours change, and is that billed?
  5. What contract length does it require?

Get the answers in writing so you can compare a full monthly cost against other options.

How does Sharrk handle this?

Sharrk is an AI receptionist built for home-service and local businesses. It answers calls 24/7, talks with callers, live transfers to a person when needed, and books appointments onto Sharrk's calendar, Calendly or Cal.com, or into ServiceTitan. New leads from web forms, Angi, Thumbtack, Networx and webhooks get a reply in under 30 seconds, and Jobber clients come in as leads.

Pricing is published. Sharrk Free is $0 with 2,500 one-time credits to build and test agents, no card needed. Core is $99 a month with 47,500 credits; an AI call minute is 150 credits and a phone number is 10,000 credits a month, so Core with one number covers about 250 call minutes. There are no contracts and no setup fees. See all plans on the pricing page.

Mako is the AI assistant inside Sharrk. You tell it in plain English what you want, such as "answer after-hours calls, take the address and book a time," and it builds the agent, the follow-up sequences (Strikes) and campaigns. Mako proposes each change and you approve it before anything goes live.

Start free or book a demo to hear a Sharrk agent answer your calls.

Sources

Frequently asked questions

Does Vonage have an AI receptionist?

Not in its standard small business plans. Vonage Business Communications includes a menu-based Virtual Receptionist, and its AI Virtual Assistant is a managed service that Vonage scopes per project with no published price (checked November 1, 2026).

Is the Vonage Virtual Receptionist an AI?

No. Vonage describes it as a simplified version of IVR that greets callers, offers a preconfigured menu and transfers them to extensions or departments, and it supports English only.

How much does the Vonage AI Virtual Assistant cost?

Vonage does not publish a price. Its page says every project goes through scoping and sizing and directs buyers to schedule a conversation.

How much do Vonage Business Communications plans cost?

Standard prices are $19.99 (Mobile), $29.99 (Premium) and $39.99 (Advanced) per line per month, with a 30% promo for new annual contracts listed through December 31, 2026, plus taxes and fees.

Can I build my own AI phone agent with Vonage AI Studio?

Yes, if you are comfortable building it. AI Studio has a $0 Standard plan and a $1,100-a-month Advanced plan, and voice is billed separately at Vonage API rates.

Start free, no credit card · See pricing · Book a demo