Blog

Does Nextiva Have an AI Receptionist? Yes, XBert, From $99 a Month

By Sharrk Team · October 31, 2026

Disclosure: we make Sharrk, an AI receptionist that competes with Nextiva's. Every Nextiva detail below comes from Nextiva's own pages, checked October 31, 2026.

Yes. Nextiva's AI receptionist is called XBert AI, and its product page lists it at $99 a month for 100 conversations, then $1.50 per conversation. It answers calls, texts and web chats 24/7, books appointments and transfers callers to your team. Nextiva sells it as an add-on to a Nextiva plan, and its help center also documents a standalone version.

What is Nextiva's AI receptionist called?

Nextiva uses a few names for the same product. The AI receptionist page calls it the "XBert AI Receptionist," the AI Voice Agent page describes "XBert AI" as a "customizable voice agent," and the pricing page lists it as "XBert AI Employee." In each case it's the same product: XBert.

XBert is not the same thing as Nextiva's auto attendant. Nextiva's auto attendant page says that feature "works like an Interactive Voice Response (IVR) system but is primarily based on keypad input and not voice input." In other words, it's a "press 1 for sales" menu, not an AI that holds a conversation. Nextiva says auto attendants come with its phone service plans at no extra charge. XBert is priced separately.

How much does Nextiva's AI receptionist cost?

Nextiva publishes XBert's price. You don't need a quote for the base package.

ItemWhat Nextiva's pages say
XBert base price$99/month, "Per 100 interactions, then $1.50 per conversation after"
What's in the $99"up to 100 resolutions (calls, texts, or chats), assisted onboarding, performance reports, and all core features"
What counts as a conversation"a call lasts 30+ seconds or a text/chat receives 3+ AI responses"
Per-minute chargesNone, per the AI Voice Agent page ("no per-minute charges")
Contract"No long-term contracts"
Guarantee30-day money-back guarantee
Setup"assisted setup at no additional fee"

Here's how the math works. A month with 160 qualifying conversations costs $99 plus 60 × $1.50, or $189. Under the FAQ's definition, a call only counts once it lasts 30 seconds or more.

Which Nextiva plans include the AI receptionist?

Nextiva's pages don't put XBert inside any plan for free. The pricing page shows three NEXT business plans: Core at $15, Engage at $25 and Scale at $75 per user per month. A footnote says those are annual Small Business prices for new customers with 1 to 100 employees on a 12-month or longer term. Under each plan the page lists "XBert AI: $1.50 per conversation," and a separate XBert box says "Packages starting at 100 conversations/month."

The AI receptionist page says "Add XBert to your Nextiva plan." Nextiva's help center also has an "XBert AI Standalone" article covering onboarding, including bringing over existing numbers. That article doesn't list a price. Its billing section says to contact Nextiva. If you want XBert without a Nextiva phone plan, ask sales how that's billed before you sign up.

What can Nextiva's XBert actually do?

From Nextiva's product pages:

  • Answers calls, texts, web chat and messaging apps 24/7, including nights, weekends and holidays, and handles more than one call at a time
  • Books, confirms and reschedules appointments using a real-time calendar connection, and sends confirmation texts and reminders
  • Transfers callers to the right person "with full context"
  • Connects at no cost to Google Calendar, Calendly, Cal.com, Zoho, Telegram and Housecall Pro. Salesforce, HubSpot, Pipedrive, ServiceTitan and others are available on request within 2 to 4 days, at no cost

None of the pages we checked say which languages XBert supports. If you serve Spanish-speaking callers, ask Nextiva directly.

Nextiva XBert vs Sharrk: how do they compare?

Nextiva XBert AISharrk
Entry price$99/month for 100 conversationsFree plan ($0, 2,500 one-time credits, no card). Core $99/month
Overage / usage$1.50 per conversation over 100Credits cover calls, texts and email. An AI call minute is 150 credits (Core's 47,500 credits ≈ 316 call minutes if used only on calls)
24/7 call answeringYesYes
TextingYes, plus web chatYes, plus email
Live transfer to a personYesYes
BookingGoogle Calendar, Calendly, Cal.comSharrk's calendar, Calendly, Cal.com; books into ServiceTitan
Field-service toolsHousecall Pro live. ServiceTitan on requestServiceTitan booking. Jobber clients come in as leads. No Housecall Pro
New-lead responseNot stated on the pages checkedReplies to new leads in under 30 seconds by call, text or email
Lead sourcesNot stated on the pages checkedAngi, Thumbtack, Networx, web forms, webhooks
Contract / guaranteeNo long-term contract, 30-day money-backNo contract, no setup fee, 30-day money-back on first payment minus usage

The pricing units are different. Nextiva charges by the conversation, and Sharrk charges by credits that depend on minutes and messages. Which one costs less depends on how many calls you get and how long they last. Nextiva charges the same $1.50 however long a conversation lasts, while Sharrk's credits scale with minutes and messages, so short calls use fewer credits on Sharrk and long calls favor a flat per-conversation price. Run your own call volume and average call length through both before you choose.

Nextiva lists live Housecall Pro and Google Calendar connections. Sharrk has no Housecall Pro integration and no two-way Google Calendar sync, so if your business runs on Housecall Pro, that matters.

Is XBert worth it if you already use Nextiva?

If your phones are already on Nextiva, XBert is the easiest AI receptionist to try. It sits on the same system, there's no contract, and Nextiva offers a 30-day refund. Before you turn it on, check three things:

  1. Your call volume. Count last month's answered calls longer than 30 seconds, plus texts and chats. If the total is well over 100, add $1.50 for each one over.
  2. Where bookings land. Make sure your calendar or field-service software is on the "live" list, not the "on request" list.
  3. What happens after the call. XBert answers and books. If you also want automatic follow-up with new leads from Angi or Thumbtack, check whether XBert does that before you count on it.

If you're comparing other phone systems, we've written up RingCentral's AI receptionist and Google Voice's auto attendant. For prices across the market, see what an AI receptionist costs.

We've also looked at whether Vonage has an AI receptionist.

How does Sharrk handle this?

Sharrk answers every call 24/7, transfers to a person when needed, and books onto Sharrk's calendar, Calendly, Cal.com or ServiceTitan. It replies to new leads from Angi, Thumbtack, Networx, web forms and webhooks in under 30 seconds. Strikes run automated follow-up sequences, and Hunts reactivate old lists you have consent to contact.

You don't configure Sharrk through menus. You describe your business and how you want calls handled in plain English, and Mako, Sharrk's built-in assistant, builds the agent for you to test. The free plan includes 2,500 credits with no card, and Core is $99 a month with no contract or setup fee. To see it on your own call flow, book a demo.

Sources

Frequently asked questions

Does Nextiva have an AI receptionist?

Yes. Nextiva sells XBert AI, an AI receptionist and voice agent that answers calls, texts and web chats 24/7, books appointments and transfers callers to your team.

How much is Nextiva's AI receptionist?

Nextiva lists XBert at $99 a month for up to 100 conversations, then $1.50 per conversation. A call counts as a conversation once it lasts 30 seconds or more. A text or chat counts once it gets 3 or more AI responses.

Is XBert included in Nextiva's phone plans?

No. Nextiva's pricing page doesn't include XBert free in any plan. It lists "XBert AI: $1.50 per conversation" under each NEXT plan, with packages starting at 100 conversations a month.

Is Nextiva's auto attendant an AI receptionist?

No. Nextiva says its auto attendant is mainly based on keypad input rather than voice input, so it works as a phone menu. XBert is the conversational AI product.

Can I use XBert without a Nextiva phone plan?

Possibly. Nextiva's help center documents an "XBert AI Standalone" version, but that article lists no price and tells you to contact Nextiva about billing. The product page says to add XBert to a Nextiva plan, so confirm with sales.

Does Nextiva XBert work with ServiceTitan or Housecall Pro?

Yes, both. Nextiva lists Housecall Pro as a live integration, and ServiceTitan as available on request within 2 to 4 days, both at no cost.

Start free, no credit card · See pricing · Book a demo